Music Recommendation Monday

Sadly I don’t feel like I have enough music to make a January playlist, as I’ve been listening to just a select few artists and albums. So I’ve decided to add this little feature because there are a few artist’s that I’ve wanted to speak about for so long.

photografie-severin-ettlin-dublinsued-dermotkennedy-2016-7241

The first artist I want to talk about is Dermot Kennedy. Dermot Kennedy is an Irish singer/songwriter and plays mainly folk and acoustic music. If you’re into heartfelt lyrics, heavy acoustic guitar playing and just pure emotion, his music is the one for you. His music is that type where every single part of the song sends a shiver down your spine. Not just the lyrics but also the dynamics in chords and the way he sings. The way he sings is so raw and heartfelt. You feel like you can feel every single emotion that inspired him to write the song, especially when he starts singing loud, almost shouting. Sadly, there are only 3 songs on Spotify at the minute. If you want to listen, you’re better off finding him on Youtube as he has a number of original’s and covers on there! He is currently writing/recording new music and I am so excited to hear what he’s created!

Favorite song of Dermot Kennedy: An Evening I Will Not Forget

0060252735391_600

The next recommendation is an album that I’ve had on repeat every night while going to sleep. I’m one of those that struggle to sleep sometimes and when I do, my go-to remedy is music, more specifically jazz music. I recommended a song off this album in my December playlist, and that album is Night Train by the Oscar Peterson Trio. This is such a good album to listen to wherever and whenever, but mainly when you’re wanting to relax or do work. Its no wonder that this was one of Oscar Peterson’s most successful albums. Peterson’s piano playing is something of a genius, with beautiful melodies particularly in the intro to Georgia On My Mind. Also, I don’t know who can even dare to use the high end of a piano and make them work except for Peterson.  This album to me really is what smooth jazz is about. Its also proof that music can be just as meaningful without lyrics and just instruments. If you’re struggling to find a way to chill out while your mind is racing, get on Spotify, Apple Music, Youtube, and listen to this album. You won’t be disappointed; its impossible.

Favorite song from Night Train: I Got It Bad and That’s Not Good

52128820

Finally, the last album to go onto my music recommendation is actually a soundtrack from a musical. This film and soundtrack is currently everything I’ve ever wanted and more from a film/soundtrack. La La Land has been a huge success and is pretty much displayed everywhere you look. I’m one of those who are completely obsessed with it and I’m not even mad about it. What I love mainly about the soundtrack is how different it is to other musicals out there. Having taken Performance Studies as an A-Level, I realised that the way to be successful in the industry singing-wise is if you can blast a song and not always sing in “head-voice”. However, this album completely challenges that, with Emma Stone singing mainly falsetto throughout the whole film apart from her audition piece. To me, this was really inspiring to see a musical be so successful without having the traditional musical theatre techniques and actually being able to sing them! Not only to mention, the soundtrack is inspired by jazz and Ryan Gosling sings and plays the piano? Its a win-win situation!

There is so much I could say about this film, soundtrack, message, characters, cinematography, but I’m gonna stop myself there!

Favorite song from La La Land: Audition (Fools Who Dream) and Epilogue. 


Thank you so much for reading! Hope you’ve enjoyed and enjoy the recommendations.

Leave a Reply

